Dinosaurs!

It seems appropriate that the first post on my crafty blog is a celebration of another first, my first completed quilt. I bought the fabric for this when I was in Las Vegas for my 25th birthday, so it’s only taken 18 months to finish.

Fabric is from the Timeless Treasures Dino collection. Strangely appropriate for someone with a degree in geology from another life.

Final size 47″x59″.

Quilted in approximately straight lines (I may need a bit of practice!) in a cross hatch pattern with lines spaced by 1.5″.

Machine bound (another first) using this wonderful tutorial from Red Pepper Quilts. This is another technique that I expect will improve with practice but it’s far quicker and stronger than slip stitching it down, a win-win situation I feel.

It’s positioned in pride of place on the sofa bed in my office, along with the first piece of patchwork I ever made.I hope Tigger and Bear appreciate it.

Let’s hope my second quilt doesn’t take another 18 months to appear!

One thought on “Dinosaurs!

Leave a Reply

