Little and Large

When I said I didn’t want it to be another 18 months before my next quilt was finished, I didn’t realise it was going to be a few days! I’ve been working through my ‘to sew’ pile of things that I’d mostly finished and it included these:

These, and several others, have all been made from one layer cake of something or other by Moda that I can’t remember. The baby quilt is quarter of a layer cake so 5″ squares and the mini is a sixteenth of the cake so 2.5″ squares. They’re both backed with fleece to make them extra snuggly.

They were an experiment in using an allegedly speedy method of quilt making from a book called 90 minute quilts. A lot of time is saved as they are self-bound using the backing fabric. It took me a bit longer than 90 minutes, more like 3 months if you include the time sat on my desk but if I hadn’t got distracted half way through though, I could definitely complete one in an afternoon.

Close up shows the quilting detail, going through both diagonals of each square.

Finished size of mini quilt is 12″ x 16″ and the baby quilt is 24″ x 36″.

Leave a Reply

