Things not to do

I finally finished the quilt of basting doom. Hours of manipulating metres of fabric under the sewing machine were a success. It looked fabulous, I was ridiculously proud of myself. Unfortunately I don’t have any photos of it in its pristine finished state before things went rather downhill. If I make mistakes they tend to be spectacularly bad as was the case here.

I had the genius idea that I’d wash it before unveiling it to the world. Shoved it in the machine on a hand wash cycle and waited to see what happened. I should mention at this point that I didn’t prewash any of the fabrics. This is partly because I’m a lazy bugger and partly because the majority of the quilt top came from a Layer Cake and I don’t believe(?) you’re supposed to wash precut fabrics before use. When I took it out the machine, some of the red colour had bled in a couple of places leaving red stains in the middle of two non-red squares.

No problem, thought I, I can fix this. So I washed it again but this time with a scoop of Vanish in the wash. The colour run faded but didn’t disappear. So off I went to the supermarket where I found a product called colour run remover.

I read the instructions, it claimed to remove colour runs while returning your clothing to its original colour. I soaked the affected areas of quilt in it.

After half an hour (far, far less than the several hours recommended), I went back to check. The colour run had been removed the only problem was it had taken all the colour with it. It had sodding bleached the whole centre of the quilt. Nowhere on the packet did it say that it would destroy EVERYTHING.

The top and bottom are beautiful and vibrant and as they should be while the middle is a washed out mess.

A bit more of a close up showing just how messed up it really is. I could kick myself. I was obviously naive to think colour run remover would be what it said and not BLEACH.

The only scant bit of comfort is that I’ve learnt never to do it again. The only option for the quilt is going to be to try and tone the bright colours down to match and pretend the whole thing was meant to look vintage.

*cries*

5 thoughts on “Things not to do

  1. OMG, you poor thing !!! I never prewash my fabric either and wash my quilts in the machine, I always put in 3 colour catcher sheets (if you have a pound shop, they do a box of 10 for £1) and it seems to work well, especially with red…my red duvet still looses colour into the catchers after about 30 washes !!!

Leave a Reply

